A Short Review of The War of Art

Review by Jim Middleton

The War of Art: Break Through the Blocks and Win Your Inner Creative Battles

By Steven Pressfield

 

Recently, the guild had a presentation by Larry Roth on writing. During his talk, he brought up a book that he said had helped him a lot. It was this book.

I got lucky. At the end of his talk, Jennifer Vandenberg, another writer in the guild with an amazing collection of books on writing, leaned over and asked if I wanted to borrow it. It might have been the best thing that happened to me that week.

Usually in reviews, the reviewer talks about what is in the book and maybe quotes some lines from it. At least, I usually do. In this case, what is in the book is important, but not as important, as what it can do for the reader. So, I am going to go with that. Because actually, what matters in a book is what the reader gets from it.

Specifically, at the time Larry gave the talk, I had a number of distractions that couldn’t be ignored and I was allowing that to let me not write.

This book, “The War of Art”, let me get back to writing every day. For that I am very appreciative.

If you find yourself not getting the writing done that you want to get done, I would highly recommend reading “The War of Art.” Any creative endeavor requires intense repetitive effort. Go for it. Fight the battles, write the words, create. Read “The War of Art.”

About jmvandenberg

I'm a writer, blogger, podcaster, book lover, runner, world traveler, Disney expert, Marvel fan, science enthusiast, scrapbooker, and dreamer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

